Premier Badminton League 2018

Premier Badminton League begins in Mumbai

  • Premier Badminton League 2018 (PBL) began in Mumbai on 22 Dec 2018.
  • It will conclude in Bengaluru on 13 January 2019.
  • The Chennai Smashers won Premier Badminton League 2017 title.
  • Olympian and World Champion Carolina Marin of Spain and India’s Rio Olympics silver medalist PV Shindu are taking part in it.

WV Raman appointed as India women’s team coach

  • Indian women’s cricket team has a  new coach Mr. W.V. Raman He has represented India in 11 Test and 27 One-DayInternationals.
  • Raman was among three recommendations made by the ad-hoc committee of Anshuman Gaekwad, Shantha Rangaswamy and Anshuman Gaekwad.
  • He is currently a batting consultant at the national cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru, India.

Sports News (17 Dec – 22 Dec 2018)

  • In season-ending Badminton World Federation (BWF) World Tour Finals tournament won by PV Sindhu.
  • The 37th Senior National Rowing Championship began in Pune on 17 Dec 2018.
  • Belgium won the Hockey World cup 2018 in Bhubaneswar on 16 Dec 2018.
  • Virat Kohli becomes the second fastest batsman to secure 25 Test Centuries.
  • Premier Badmintion League 2018 began in Mumbai on 22 Dec 2018.

Rajeev Mehta appointed as President of SAFF

  • On 21 Dec 2018, Rajeev Mehta was appointed as the President of the South Asian Fencing Federation (SAFF) for a four-year term.
  • At present, he is the president of Fencing Association of India (FAI).
  • He is also the secretary general of the Indian Olympic Association.
  • FAI secretary general Bashir Ahmed Khan will also hold a similar post at the South Asian Fencing Federation.

Real Madrid won the Club world cup 2018

  • Real Marid won the FIFA Club World Cup 2018 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) on 23 Dec 2018.
  • They defeated AI Ain in the final match.
  • They also become the first to win four club world cup titles.
  • With this win, Real Madrid becomes the first ever to claim three straight club world cup or Intercontinental cup.

Mahesh & Yash Clinch Squash tournament titles

  • Squash players Mahesh Mangaonkar of Maharashtra and Yash Fadte of Goa clinched the men’s and under 19 boys titles respectively in the ‘CCI Western India Squash Championship’ on 23 Dec 2018.
  • Mahesh defeated Vikram Malhotra in the Men’s final.
  • Yash defeated Veer Chotrani of Maharashtra in the under 19 boys final.
  • In Mumbai 75th CCI Western India Squash Championship was held.
%d bloggers like this: